August 12, 2009

Sorcerer vs. Spiritmaster, which caster DPS should I be?

Posted in Aion, Guide tagged , , , , , at 1:26 am by Fedoldinn

Alright, well, its time we had the logical follow up to Middea’s well written article on the healing classes. Although I was tempted to play a healer from my past experience in WoW, I decided that I wanted a bit of a change and to continue with my more recent DPS role. With that said, I’m going to initially try a mage out.

The logical question now is, sorcerer or spiritmaster? Which do I choose?

So far, I’ve played a sorcerer in the North American Aion betas and I’ve really enjoyed the class. Even with its wide range of crowd control abilities for slowing and rooting mobs, as well as hard hitting spells to destroy them before theyΒ  reach you, I’ve still managed to get myself killed far too many times. Having extremely low health isn’t really a good thing for someone who plays as recklessly as I do at times. Despite this, I like the class design and play style.

From what I’ve read, the low HP of mages in Aion also makes them fairly weak and easy targets in PvP. I can’t really backup this statement yet since the only PvP I experienced in the beta was a couple of Elyos who were just outside one of the Asmodian towns ganking us while we were questing. At the time, I didn’t stand a chance and I wasn’t interested in focusing on the PvP elements of the game, so after a few quick attempts at getting revenge I decided to run and hide.

As far as which class to choose at level 10, I’ve currently decided to remain as a sorcerer.

Spiritmasters have their summoned elemental spirits for support. Having the pet out at all times is essentially a must if you want to kill mobs efficiently, and managing the pet’s attacks is also important for increasing your damage done. One potential drawback of the spirits is that they do not fly with you, they remain on the ground (with the exception of the Energy of Fire summons). I’m sure highly effective players will have their spirit on the ground hitting specific targets and manage their pet well while they are in the air focusing on either the same target or potentially others. I know for a fact that this is more than I can personally handle, especially in a fast-paced PvP environment. However, if you like to have a pet and managing it’s attacks, then this may be the class for you.

The other noteworthy aspects of the spiritmaster class are its ability to remove buffs, the debuffs it has and the dots and direct damage spells available. With a potential to reduce the strength, combat speed, lower resistances and decrease the flight time of targets, a spiritmaster will be very important to have around for group PvP as well as in a PvE environment. Although they do have many of the early spells that sorcerers do for damage, most of your time as a spiritmaster will most likely be spent applying debuffs, removing buffs and placing dots on targets while focusing on your pet instead of using damaging spells with a longer cast time.

The sorcerer, on the other hand, is pretty much the opposite end of the caster DPS spectrum. Without a pet, a sorcerer’s focus is on casting their damaging spells. These range from dots to direct damage nukes and AoE spells, and also vary from frost to fire. Basically, the focus here is to do as much damage as possible with the spells available to you. If you like casting and doing high amounts of damage, the sorcerer is probably a better choice for you. However, you will have to keep track of the cooldowns on your spells in order to optimize your casting rotation while playing keep away with the enemy. Slowing and rooting effects are available to both of the mage classes and are important to each.

A spiritmaster is very much a utility class, however, they do have an important role to play. If you like having a pet and multitasking watching buffs and debuffs while doing a little damage, then this is the class for you. If you prefer to focus more on damage, high single target DPS and the ability to AoE mobs,Β  then you should consider a sorcerer instead.

10 Comments »

  1. Rer said,

    Silly you, you pretty much wrote the answer yourself.

    Stick with the Sorcerer, because right now they are an excellent class overall.

    The Spritmaster, on the other hand is unfortunately plagued by numerous nerfs and missing implementations. I was going to roll one before I had done any research, but after looking more into it… I can’t say it looks all that great.

    Anyways, that’s just my opinion. I’ve added you to my blogroll by the way, keep up the good work.

  2. Fedoldinn said,

    It was more of a rhetorical question to base the article on, following the format of Middea’s healer debate article. I had already decided which I wanted to be, but I wanted to discuss both in a bit of detail for others to point out any pros and cons, as well as play style issues that may affect someone else’s decision.

    Who knows, maybe they’ll make some changes to the Spiritmaster class in upcoming patches that fix some of the issues with it.

    You caught us making final edits after posting, I thought I could sneak the article up without anyone seeing it until the morning or so πŸ™‚

  3. Rer said,

    Yeah, here’s hoping they do put in some material to improve the Spiritmaster, because right now they just seem to have fear going for them.

    Sorry, hehe. Admittedly I’m a night-owl from time to time, and I love reading blogs/listening to podcasts/etc.

  4. Middea said,

    I wouldn’t base my decision so much on which one is better right now damage wise… I’d really recommend picking the playstyle that suits you. Who knows what nerfs or buffs classes will receive in the future, but if you pick a playstyle you like you’ll enjoy your toon more πŸ˜‰

  5. Hoschi said,

    Also, you’d only have one Spiritmaster per group.

    Then, too, these Spirits don’t fly. Which makes the Spiritmaster less favourable in PvP which often happens during flight. His DPS is significantly decreased in aerial combat.

  6. Anikka said,

    I thought you were going to be a Chanter or a Cleric! Oh youu! -giggle-

    Sorc though, but be a good one – there will be alot of lame Sorcs’ around. πŸ˜‰

  7. Middea said,

    I’m going to be a Cleric πŸ™‚ Fed’s going Sorc πŸ˜›

  8. Anikka said,

    Sweet – too bad you had to favor the backhair… we could’ve had a nice lil party with me tanking with my face. πŸ™‚

  9. Skai said,

    I casually checked out Sorcerer on CN Aion servers, and I have to say that having such low HP is scarey, but our shield, the rooting spells.. we’re seriously survivable for how frail the class is.

    I’m very lost as to which class I will play. I’m very torn between assassin. chanter/cleric, and sorcerer.

  10. emonemo said,

    sms dont have anti class… sorc have and the biggest ones is ranger assasin and templars. sm is the best class 1v1 u must be sure in that sms have alot of skills which slow down the target and enemy even cant touch u… but sorc is the this one with monster dmg he can slain u for 3-4 sec depends from player and class ofc. and there have one rly immportant sorc vs sm who will win the truth is who takes first hit hes winner . … πŸ˜‰ if u want fun game chose sorc if u want be best 1v1 chose sm


Leave a comment