July 21, 2009

Performance Issues…

Posted in Rant, WoW tagged at 5:08 pm by Fedoldinn

No, not that kind of performance issues… the computer kind silly.

After returning home and raiding on my desktop this past Monday night again, I’ve realized that my computer isn’t handling World of Warcraft as well as it once did. I’ve known this was the case for quite some time now, but it seems to be exceptionally bad in 25 man Ulduar. Monday was the first time I’ve been in a guild raid since I took a break from WoW in my old guild back in early April, before patch 3.1. I’ve done a few 25 man pugs since then, but a high level of performance wasn’t really necessary there.

It turns out that the opposite is true for hard mode Mimiron. Let’s just say that it’s highly unlikely I’ll be of any benefit to this guild’s progression attempts for Heroic: Firefighter while raiding at 2 FPS. Dodging rockets, running from laser barrage and trying not to stand in the fire isn’t exactly easy when your camera turns at 90 degree increments and your character doesn’t respond all too quickly to the commands you’re giving.

I’ve had issues with my in game performance in raids since the launch of Wrath of the Lich King. Sometimes a reboot right before raid time helped my framerate, othertimes I just dealt with it. I raided most of Naxxramas around 10 FPS on good days, and 5 FPS on not so great days. I managed to avoid dying to Sartharion 3D (for the most part) and still be able to call out flame walls in time in this range; I also managed to heal the Immortal achievement with no problems whatsoever. Malygos? A non issue.

Ulduar on the other hand seems to be the last straw for my poor desktop that has gotten me this far in the MMO that I’ve come to love and hate on a daily basis.

As a Balance Druid, I’ve gotten used to being roughly the bottom of the DPS chart over the past few weeks, but the prerequisite for doing any damage at all is that you have to stay alive. Not being healed through Napalm is one thing, but dying to fires that I can’t even see is another thing entirely.

And before you ask, yes I’ve done the registry hack; no, I do not raid on Vista.

I was hoping I had ironed out the hardware issues I was having after the last round of fixes, but I guess I’m not quite there yet. So, a couple weeks after joining a new guild, I’m looking at taking a break from raiding already until I can figure out what is wrong and hopefully fix it. If that can’t easily be done, then I think it’s about time I parted ways with my favorite past time for the past three years and moved on.

I can only hope that I can find a solution by the time Aion is released…

Leave a Reply

