January 2, 2010

Sorcerer Stigma Stones

Posted in Aion, Gear, Guide tagged , , , , at 11:40 am by Fedoldinn

Yes, we’re still here. Things have been pretty chaotic lately with work and the holidays coming up, but we’ve still been playing Aion regularly.

Lately, I’ve been working on leveling through the upper 30s and having just recently hit 39, I still have a ways to go in the process. Many hours spent in Mist Mane grinding, and I still have many more quests to complete there which should be good for quite a bit of experience when I finally get to turn them in. I’ve also been working through some of the campaign quests I left lying around, and generally clearing out my quest log in the Abyss when I can. Right now, I’m taking some time to focus on gathering again since my potion supply has dwindled and I’ve lagged behind severely in my Aether Extraction skill.

Anyway, with more time spent grouping and hopefully more opportunities to group for instances coming up, I’ve been debating once again on which Stigma I want to pick up for my open spot. I’d left it for two reasons: because I wasn’t entirely certain that I wanted to get Curse of Roots, and because the general cost of the Stigma Stones was extremely high on the broker in comparison to my kinah supply at the time. Now, cost is less of an issue, but I’m still not completely sold on Curse of Roots.

Let’s take a quick glance at some of the the stigmas available for Sorcerers:

  • Lumiel’s Wisdom I – Level 20 – For 15 sec, you can use skills with only 50% of the required MP.
  • Curse of Roots I – Level 20 – Transforms the target into a tree for 20 sec. The transformed target cannot move or act, and its All Elemental Defenses increases. Once the target is attacked, the effect disappears immediately.
  • Zikel’s Wisdom I – Level 28 – Increases your Magical Skill Boost by 300 for 15 sec.
  • Curse of Weakness I – Level 28 – Curses a target within 25m. For 1 min, each time they use magical skills, they take magic damage equal to 5% of their Max HP. This damage will not exceed 500.
  • Wind Cut Down I – Level 31 – Deals 687 magical wind damage to a target within 25m of you, causing it to bleed for 6 sec.
  • Vaizel’s Wisdom I – Level 37 – Reduces your skill casting time by 25% for 15 sec.

The first on the list, Lumiel’s Wisdom, is the first stigma that we get as sorcerers. I still use it a lot for grinding and soloing, as well as in instances to keep my mana supply up without having to use potions repeatedly. The other stigma that I picked up early on was Zikel’s Wisdom, for those times when you need a mob to die faster or for adding some damage when out killing Elyos. I find these two to be very useful in different situations, even though they are on the same 30 second cooldown.

Taking a look at the others, we have Curse of Roots, Curse of Weakness, Wind Cut Down and Vaizel’s Wisdom. Curse of Roots adds yet another form of CC to our arsenal. Even though we already have Sleep, Root and Aether’s Hold, having another more permanent crowd control ability that also keeps ranged targets silenced is extremely useful in many situations, both PvE and PvP alike. Many sorcerers tend to pick this one up early on and use it quite often. Curse of Weakness does damage to targets as they cast, however, the damage done is fairly limited and so is its usefulness. Personally, I’d recommend passing on this one. Wind Cut Down is more useful, adding a bleed to targets who try to run. This one seems more useful for PvP, and I’ve even contemplated picking it up myself, however I’m not entirely sure how useful it is since I’ve never seen anyone using it. Finally, Vaizel’s Wisdom is yet another stigma on the same cooldown as both Lumiel’s Wisdom and Zikel’s Wisdom, but this time it reduces our casting speed by 25% on spells.

I’m still leaning towards picking up Vaizel’s Wisdom if I can, I’d like to be able to dish out more damage in less time in PvP situations personally. Curse of Roots is tempting though since I’ve lost count on how many times I’ve had an extra mob or player around that Root or Aether’s Hold simply wasn’t useful enough to take care of. Of course, the latest broker prices on both of these has me waiting yet again. The last time I checked, Vaizel’s Wisdom was 3 million kinah on our server, and Curse of Roots was around 500 000 kinah, both far overpriced compared to what they had been before. What are your thoughts as a Sorcerer? Which stigmas do you prefer for PvE and PvP purposes?

4 Comments »

  1. Mojeaux said,

    Yeah, as previously mentioned, I hit 40 and am wondering what stigma to socket in the newly opened spot. To be honest I haven’t given it THAT much thought as I’ve been busy just trying to hit my goal of hitting 40 before my holidays were up. I barely made it, getting there sometime yesterday morning. Anyway, glad to see you two are still up and writing about our favorite game :-)

  2. Fedoldinn said,

    I hit 40 fairly recently after writing this as well (it took me a while to actually get it posted) and decided it was finally time to buy Curse of Roots. The stigma was down to just over 100 000 kinah again, so it was well worth the purchase in my opinion. It’s great to have that extra CC around.

    I still had one slot open from not grabbing one earlier, and I found Vaizel’s Wisdom for a little less than 1 million kinah, so I grabbed it too. :)

    Fun stuff!

  3. Middea said,

    *innocent face* certainly came in handy with our all dps group + me/cleric and my crazy pulls :)

    wtb a real group. with a tank like creature. though our all dps group was fun too :-P

  4. Mojeaux said,

    What’s funny to me, is that I normally am “The Tank”. I’ve always enjoyed the responsibility of directing the pace and direction of the group, choosing which mob to pull, etc. However, even though I have a templar at 30, I’ve pretty much concentrated most of my efforts on my Ranger. I find a certain charm in the freedom that being DPS affords me. I will admit to having to bite my tongue a lot in groups though, especially when playing with a noob Tank :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

