December 14, 2009

Looking for Group

Posted in Aion, Rant tagged , , , at 8:11 pm by Middea

For being a group oriented game in both PvE and PvP aspects, it seems to be surprisingly difficult to actually find a group already. In the early leveling days, groups were everywhere, but as everyone’s levels have gotten more spread out from 30-50, groups that are pugging seem to be very rare. Most people seem to have a set group they run with, as did I for awhile. A set group is pretty wonderful as I’m sure we’re all aware, you know what to expect from everyone, what folks are capable of, and pulls are a fluid and continuous chain, you trust each other.

But what happens when you get behind in levels to your group due to whatever circumstances and are no longer within 2-3 levels of them and you are abandoned? You are forced to resign to wading through the spam that is the LFG channel in the desperate hopes that someone, somewhere, needs you. Even if not for the instance you need/want. And heaven help you if you want to go to the middle deck of SR – the red headed step child deck that almost no one anywhere wants to touch with a ten foot pole.

Levels 42 and up are a plethora of group quests but not many solo quests, I have literally 27 group quests in my quest log at the moment at 43. Grinding solo is a dangerous activity with all the Elyos gank squads running through Beluslan. So what’s a cleric to do? Suck it up and grind alone, running to new grind spots each time the 4+ Elyos wreck you whilst locking you down? Troll LFG while crafting? I have tried many combos of these basic ways of passing the time in game, and it’s been over a week since I have found a group to run anything at all, from Fortress guard grinding, Steel Rake, Alquima, to anything at all. Heck, I’d even go to Mist Mane again if anyone would take me.

What’s to happen with the alts in the future, or players late to the game… If it’s already this difficult to find a pug group, and grouping is pretty much needed to effectively level at certain levels due to a lack of solo questing options, at least for players like me who refuse to grind for hours on faceless mobs, what’s a solo player to do?

Panhandler Cleric
I feel like a panhandler. Instead of beer, I just want exp.

Anyone else having issues finding a group to go anywhere?

2 Comments »

  1. Whysper said,

    I feel your pain. Our Legion is down to a handful of active folks, and trying to get anything done that requires a decent group is just painful lately. We’re actually looking to join another Legion with active folks just to have some other people to run with.

    Frustrating.

  2. Mojeaux said,

    Hi guys! Well I just hit 40 this weekend, but happily, I belong to a pretty active guild with lots of willing and helpful players. I’ve been playing my butt off these past two weeks (which I took off from work) and have gotten a templar alt to 30 and working on an assassin alt which currently hit 25 last night, ready for TG instance runs until 29′ish. I’m hoping to update my blog in today or more likely in the next couple of days (have to catch up on work related stuff). I’m still enjoying the game, if two solid weeks of 10pm-5am sessions is anything to go by :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

